dearest portland, you will most certainly be missed

Although my little girl was born in Portland, she has only spent a grand total of seven weeks of her life in the city itself. Regardless, I know she feels just at home there as I do. Similarly, for me, I have now spent twice as much time on Tortola as I lived in Portland, but it doesn’t matter, when asked I always call the Northwest home. It’s where I found my passion in Montessori, made a house a home on Glisan┬ástreet, learned the meaning of friendship, a friendship tested during some of the toughest months of my life, and found the strength through these roots of friendship to take off not once but twice, knowing I would always be welcomed home. It’s hard to tell now if I will ever make my way back. As Yann says, it’s a bit far from the sea, and I too find the weather more difficult than before as I relearned┬áthe power of the sun. But never say never. After these last couple of weeks in the city spent with Coralie, lovingly hosted by the Montgomery’s, whether or not we return permanently, there will be more summers in our future, maybe a few weeks in Hood River or on the coast, Oregon is a magical place.

DSCF2379 DSCF2363 DSCF2345 DSCF2330 DSCF2318 DSCF2305 DSCF2298 DSCF2295 DSCF2294 DSCF2289 DSCF2284

About ripepapaya

A little blog, about our little life, on a little island.

2 responses to “dearest portland, you will most certainly be missed

  1. Chris

    Great photos, Julie. Is that Powell’s Books where Coralie is reading? One of my favorite places to visit in Portland. After living on Tortola, I’m sure I would appreciate it so much more now. :)

  2. Liz

    Hooray! Glad you are having a lovely time. We miss you! Look forward to having you back on island. Until then, enjoy! Much love xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 387 other followers

