hello there january. are you over yet?

DSCF8892

So, here we are, finally in the last few days of my least favorite month of the year. It always comes as a slight surprise to me, about a couple of weeks in when nothing seems to be going my way, and I just lack the motivation to make a change, that I remember why. Two big anniversaries that have marked my life for years now.  One well into its second decade the other almost into its first.  They are such a part of me, parentless me, that I actually rarely realize on the days they hit. Regardless, the essence lies there under the surface, and the month often seems to go by quite glumly. I suppose for quite some time, I was pretty sure I had it all figured out. But becoming a mom myself of course opened old wounds.  A few weeks a year to feel, remember, honor, is really not much to ask in the big scheme of things.  Regardless of the undertone of grief in the past few weeks, there were some great memories made, this trip to Anegada being at the top of the list. I also got back into the teaching saddle, which would certainly make my mom proud. So surely the month was not a complete wash. Still, let’s bring on February please.

DSCF8897

DSCF8879

DSCF8835 - Copy (2)

DSCF8819

DSCF8817

DSCF8816

DSCF8815

About ripepapaya

A little blog, about our little life, on a little island.

One response to “hello there january. are you over yet?

  1. asleeptodream

    Jules,

    I’ve never known a stronger person than you to come through the loss of both parents so early and be so positive and loving towards the world. I know this time is hard for you but take the time to reflect and honor and know that your family of friends love and care for you so very much!

    I’m happy to hear you are teaching again. How does it feel to be back in the classroom? I would love a Skype date very soon.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

